How to Buy a Car From CarMax: Online and In-Store Steps
Buying from CarMax works like this: pick a car online or in a store, see the listed no-haggle price, line up financing, then either pick the car up or have it delivered, with a short money-back window afterward. The details people care about most, like the return window and the warranty, have changed over the years, and a lot of pages still quote old numbers.
This guide walks the process step by step and quotes CarMax’s own press releases, with dates, instead of repeating rules from memory. Where I could not confirm a detail on an official page, such as fee amounts, I say so rather than guess. Policies vary by state and store, so confirm anything that affects your money on carmax.com before you commit.
How CarMax Online Car Buying Works
Best Used-Car Buying Guide Pick
![]() |
The Ultimate Used Car Buying Guide by Nicholas Jewett, paperback, $9.99 when checked A plain paperback on buying a used car, useful to read before you visit any dealer, CarMax included.
|
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
In CarMax’s February 27, 2026 press release, the company says shoppers can browse a nationwide inventory of more than 45,000 cars online, with upfront pricing and no pressure to buy. You can shop online, in a store, or a mix of both. When you are ready, you either pick the car up at a store or have it delivered to your home or workplace. In that same release, CarMax says home delivery is available within a 60-mile radius of select stores, so delivery is not guaranteed everywhere.
A September 24, 2020 CarMax release, from when online buying rolled out nationwide, adds that customers can save and transfer vehicles online, get an online appraisal for a trade-in, and secure financing pre-approval. Here is the whole path in one table.
| Step | What CarMax says (source and date) | Tip |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Find a car | Browse nationwide inventory of more than 45,000 cars online with upfront pricing (CarMax release, Feb 27, 2026) | Shortlist two or three cars so you have a fallback if one sells |
| 2. Move it to a store | Customers can save and transfer vehicles online (CarMax release, Sep 24, 2020) | I could not find an official fee amount for transfers, so ask for it in writing first |
| 3. Line up financing | Customers can secure financing pre-approval online (CarMax release, Sep 24, 2020) | Compare the offer with a bank or credit union quote before you sign |
| 4. Value your trade | Online appraisal offers are valid for seven days (CarMax release, Nov 18, 2025) | Note the expiry date, since it affects when you should close the deal |
| 5. Pick up or get delivery | Express in-store pickup, or home or workplace delivery within a 60-mile radius of select stores (Feb 27, 2026) | Confirm delivery availability for your address before you count on it |
| 6. Use the return window | A 10-day Money Back Guarantee (Feb 27, 2026) | Read the current conditions at carmax.com/returns, because the terms have changed before |

Understanding CarMax’s No-Haggle Pricing
CarMax describes itself as the original disruptor to introduce a true no-haggle car-buying model (February 27, 2026 release). In practice that means the price on the listing is the price CarMax is asking, and you are not expected to bargain over it. That is the opposite of a traditional lot, where the sticker is only a starting point.
No-haggle does not mean every dollar in the deal is fixed. Add-ons, financing terms and your trade-in value are separate decisions, so look at the total before you sign, not just the car price. If you want to see what is and is not negotiable at a normal dealership for comparison, read our guide on whether you can negotiate the car price at a dealership.
CarMax’s Return Policy Has Changed: 7 Days, Then 30, Now 10
This is the part most older articles get wrong. CarMax’s own releases show the money-back window changing over time, and the warranty changed with it.
| Date of CarMax release | Money-back window it describes | Limited warranty it describes |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 24, 2020 | 7-day money-back guarantee, return for any reason for a full refund | Not stated in that release |
| Jan 12, 2021 | 30-day guarantee, up to 1,500 miles driven (previously 7 days) | 90 days or 4,000 miles, whichever comes first |
| May 3, 2022 | 30-day guarantee, 1,500-mile limit, with a note to check carmax.com for limits | Not stated in that release |
| Nov 18, 2025 | 10-day Money Back Guarantee | Not stated in that release |
| Feb 27, 2026 | 10-day Money Back Guarantee | 30-day limited warranty, no mileage limitation and no deductible; different terms in CT, MA, MN, NJ, NY and RI |
So if another site tells you that CarMax gives you 30 days and 1,500 miles, that matches CarMax’s 2021 and 2022 announcements but not its 2025 and 2026 ones. The 2025 and 2026 releases mention 10 days and do not list a mileage limit, but a press release is not the full policy. I could not open CarMax’s returns page during this update, so treat the fine print (mileage, fees, exceptions) as unconfirmed and read it before you buy.
CarMax’s February 2026 release also says optional MaxCare extended service plans are available beyond the limited warranty. Cost and coverage depend on the car, so get the plan terms in writing and compare them with what the FTC advises below.
Financing, Trade-In and Appraisal Offers
CarMax says you can request financing pre-approval online (2020 release). Three things are worth doing in order. First, get a quote from your own bank or credit union so you have a number to compare. Second, ask CarMax for the full financed cost, meaning the annual percentage rate, finance charge and total of payments, not only the monthly payment. The FTC says to confirm these figures before you sign. Third, if you are trading in, note that CarMax’s online appraisal offers are valid for seven days (November 18, 2025 release), and CarMax’s 2020 release says it will buy your car even if you do not buy one from it.

What the FTC Buyers Guide Means for Your CarMax Purchase
The FTC’s Used Car Rule requires covered dealers to post a Buyers Guide on each used car before a customer inspects it to buy, in plain view with both sides visible. The guide shows whether the car is sold as is or with a warranty, and it warns that spoken promises are hard to enforce. Per the FTC, dealers must give you the original or a copy of the guide at the sale, reflecting any final changes.
The FTC also says to get everything in writing: promises, add-ons, out-the-door prices, financing terms and return policies. If the Buyers Guide and your contract conflict, the guide controls. The FTC notes that vehicle history reports usually miss mechanical problems, so it suggests having an independent mechanic inspect the car, and says that if a dealer refuses an inspection, consider another dealer. The full advice is in the FTC’s guide to buying a used car from a dealer. Whether and how CarMax allows an outside inspection is a question to ask your store before you pick a car, since I did not find that policy stated in the releases I read.
Checklist Before You Sign
- Check recalls by VIN. Enter the 17-character VIN in NHTSA’s recall lookup. If a recall is open, ask when and where it will be repaired before you take delivery.
- Read the Buyers Guide on the car and make sure the as-is or warranty box matches what you were told.
- Get the return terms in writing, including the number of days and any mileage or condition limits, since these have changed over time.
- Ask for the out-the-door price with every fee itemized, including any transfer or delivery fee. I could not confirm fee amounts from an official CarMax page, so do not assume zero.
- Compare the financing with a bank or credit union, using total financed cost rather than the monthly payment.
- Decide on any service plan separately, and check whether it duplicates the limited warranty you already get.
If you want to know who earns what on a sale, our explainer on how CarMax makes money covers that side, and our new vs used car financing comparison helps with the loan decision.
Frequently Asked Questions About Buying From CarMax
Can you negotiate the price at CarMax?
CarMax describes its model as no-haggle, so the listed price is not meant to be bargained down. Your trade-in appraisal and any add-ons are separate, so review them line by line.
What is CarMax’s return policy?
CarMax’s February 27, 2026 release describes a 10-day Money Back Guarantee. Earlier releases described 7 days in 2020 and 30 days with a 1,500-mile limit in 2021 and 2022, so confirm the current conditions on carmax.com.
Can you buy a car fully online from CarMax?
CarMax says you can shop online, in a store, or both, then pick the car up or have it delivered. Home delivery is available within a 60-mile radius of select stores, so availability depends on your address.
How long is a CarMax appraisal offer good for?
CarMax’s November 18, 2025 release says online offers are valid for seven days.
Does a car from CarMax come with a warranty?
CarMax’s February 27, 2026 release describes a 30-day limited warranty with no mileage limitation and no deductible, with different terms in CT, MA, MN, NJ, NY and RI. Optional MaxCare plans cover the time after that.
The Bottom Line
Buying from CarMax is a no-haggle process built around online shopping, a short return window and a limited warranty, but the terms have shifted from 7 days to 30 to 10, so read the current fine print rather than trusting an old article. Check the VIN for recalls, read the Buyers Guide, and get every fee and promise in writing before you sign.
Products related to this article
Sponsored / affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I may earn additional commission from eligible campaigns.



