Electric Car Battery Replacement Cost + Warranty by Maker (2026)
No official source publishes one price for an electric car battery replacement. The Department of Energy’s Alternative Fuels Data Center says manufacturers typically do not publish replacement-battery pricing, and it expects an out-of-warranty replacement to be a significant expense. What is published is the coverage: Tesla, Nissan, Chevrolet and Kia state battery warranties of 8 to 10 years, and EPA reports that batteries replaced because of failure averaged 2.5 percent in a study of about 15,000 EVs. This guide covers what each source states, the warranty terms by maker, what moves a quote, and how to get a real number for your car.
EV Battery Replacement Cost: What Is Actually Published
Best Charging Cable Organizer Pick
![]() |
Lectron Electric Vehicle Charger Nozzle Holster Dock and J-Hook Combo for All J1772 EVs
|
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Spec-based pick from the listing, not a hands-on test.
The government pages that cover EV batteries give no replacement price. The table lists each published figure, its year and what it covers, so a pack-price statistic is not mistaken for a repair bill.
| Source | Figure or statement | Year | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center, Maintenance and Safety of Electric Vehicles | Manufacturers typically do not publish replacement-battery pricing; replacement outside warranty is expected to be a significant expense | Undated page | EVs in general; no dollar figure given |
| fueleconomy.gov, All-Electric Vehicles | Batteries are expensive and replacing them may be costly if they fail | Undated page | All-electric vehicles in general; no dollar figure given |
| IEA Global EV Outlook 2025 | Lithium-ion battery pack prices fell 20 percent, the largest drop since 2017 | 2024 | Global pack prices, based on Bloomberg New Energy Finance survey data |
| IEA Global EV Outlook 2025 | Pack prices fell nearly 30 percent in China and 10 to 15 percent in Europe and the United States | 2024 | Regional pack prices |
| IEA Global EV Outlook 2025 | A 20 kWh plug-in hybrid pack cost about the same as a 65 kWh battery electric pack | 2024 | Global sales-weighted average pack sizes; price per kWh for PHEV packs was more than three times that of BEV packs |
| EPA, Electric Vehicle Myths (citing Recurrent, 2025) | 2.5 percent average replaced due to failure; under 0.5 percent for model year 2016 and newer | Study of about 15,000 EVs through model year 2023 | Replacements outside major recalls; most were covered by the manufacturer warranty |
Read the IEA rows as industry pricing for the pack itself. A quote from a dealer or shop is a different number, and none of the sources above gives one.

Is Your Battery Still Under Warranty?
For most owners the warranty is the real answer to the cost question, because failures that happen inside it are repaired or replaced under its terms. The table lists each maker’s stated EV battery coverage. Terms differ by model and model year, and the capacity clause matters as much as the years.
| Maker | Models as named on the page | Battery warranty as stated | Capacity clause |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla | Model S, Model X, Cybertruck | 8 years or 150,000 miles, whichever comes first | Minimum 70 percent battery capacity retention |
| Tesla | Model 3 RWD, Model Y RWD, Model Y AWD | 8 years or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first | Minimum 70 percent battery capacity retention |
| Tesla | Model 3 Premium and Performance, Model Y Premium and Performance, Model Y L Premium Launch Series | 8 years or 120,000 miles, whichever comes first | Minimum 70 percent battery capacity retention |
| Nissan | 2026 LEAF | 8-year or 100,000-mile limited battery warranty, whichever occurs first | Not stated on the model page |
| Chevrolet | 2027 Bolt | 8-year or 100,000-mile battery limited warranty | Not stated on the model page |
| Kia | EV models (Kia EV Battery Coverage) | 10 years or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first | Covers capacity loss below 70 percent; repairs or replacements restore the battery to at least 70 percent |
Kia’s warranty page also compares EV battery coverage with other makers, listing Toyota and Ford at 8 years or 100,000 miles based on Kia’s own review of manufacturer websites as of December 2024.
Federal and California emissions warranties
Emissions warranties are a separate layer. The California Air Resources Board’s warranty fact sheet (print date March 6, 2026) lists 10 years or 150,000 miles for the battery or other energy storage device on vehicles certified to the 2001-2017 PZEV or 2018-2025 TZEV standard, which is a different certification category from a plug-in-only EV. It also lists 8 years or 80,000 miles of extended federal emissions coverage for three components: catalytic converters, the electronic emissions control unit and the onboard diagnostic device. An EV traction battery is not named on that sheet, and the sheet points owners to their own manual for specific coverage.
Tesla’s warranty page shows how a maker can layer this. It lists an Emissions Performance Warranty of 8 years or 80,000 miles for Model 3 and Model Y covering components needed to charge the high voltage battery, store energy or transmit power. It separately lists a 4-year or 50,000-mile warranty on a high voltage battery purchased as a part from Tesla.
What Affects the Cost of an EV Battery Replacement
Because no price list exists, the useful question is what moves a quote.
- Vehicle type and pack size. The IEA reports that PHEV packs cost more per kWh than BEV packs because of their smaller size and greater power requirements, so a smaller pack is not automatically a cheaper one.
- Battery chemistry. The IEA says lithium iron phosphate packs offer a lower cost and nickel manganese cobalt packs offer higher energy density, which is why chemistry differs between models.
- Region and market. Pack prices fell at different rates in China, Europe and the United States in 2024 per the IEA, so pricing is not uniform worldwide.
- Warranty status and terms. Mileage, years and the capacity threshold decide whether the maker pays at all; see the table above.
- Repair versus full replacement. Kia’s coverage refers to repairs or replacements that restore the battery to at least 70 percent capacity, so ask the dealer which one is proposed.
- New, remanufactured or second-use. The Alternative Fuels Data Center lists after-market replacement packs among niche second-use business models and says the economics of second-life batteries are still evolving.
- Where the part is bought. Tesla lists a separate 4-year or 50,000-mile warranty on a high voltage battery purchased as a part, so the terms on a replacement can differ from the original warranty.

How Often Do EV Batteries Actually Need Replacing?
Not often, based on the two federal sources that address it. EPA’s electric vehicle myths page states that EV battery replacements due to failure are uncommon and that drivetrain batteries are designed to last the lifetime of the vehicle. The same page reports that 97.5 percent of EVs in the cited study still used their original batteries, outside major recalls, and that the share replaced falls under one percent for vehicles made from 2016 onward. Those figures exclude recall replacements.
On age, fueleconomy.gov cites a DOE study suggesting that EV batteries may last 12 to 15 years in moderate climates and 8 to 12 years in severe climates. The Alternative Fuels Data Center adds that studies show an EV battery could have at least 70 percent of its initial capacity left at the end of its vehicle life if it has not failed or been damaged. It also notes that EV batteries have a limited number of charging cycles and will wear out eventually. For longer lifespan detail, see the lifespan of an electric car battery and how long electric car batteries last.
12V Battery vs EV Traction Battery
This page is about the large high-voltage traction battery. Many EV owners are really asking about the small 12V battery, which is a separate part. The Alternative Fuels Data Center says lead-acid batteries appear in commercially available electric vehicles only for ancillary loads. For that smaller battery, see how many miles a car battery lasts. For how the large packs are built, see how electric car batteries are made.
Safety: High-Voltage Work Is for Professionals
The Alternative Fuels Data Center states that EV high-voltage systems typically range from 400 to 1,000 volts, that battery packs are encased in sealed shells, and that some battery systems use liquid coolant that may need regular checks per the owner’s manual. A damaged EV battery should not be opened outside a qualified shop; if a warning light or a collision raises a battery concern, stop driving and contact the dealer. For routine upkeep, see whether electric cars need servicing.
Recycling and End of Life
Per the Alternative Fuels Data Center, most components of lithium-ion batteries can be recycled, though the cost of material recovery remains a challenge. It names smelting, chemical leaching and direct recycling as the three major technologies, and advises buyers to consider the manufacturer’s battery recycling policy when talking to a dealer.
How to Get a Real Quote for Your Car
- Start with your VIN and warranty booklet: confirm the years, miles and capacity threshold that apply to your exact model and year.
- Ask the dealer to put any replacement or repair quote in writing, split into parts, labor and any diagnostic fee.
- Ask whether a repair is possible instead of a full pack, and what warranty applies to the repaired or replacement battery.
- Ask whether battery capacity was measured, and what the reading was against the warranty threshold.
EV Battery Cost Myths vs What the Sources Say
| Common claim | What the sources say |
|---|---|
| Every EV battery needs replacing after a few years | EPA reports an average 2.5 percent replaced due to failure in a study of about 15,000 EVs, and under 0.5 percent for model year 2016 and newer. |
| 8 years and 100,000 miles is when a battery dies | That figure is a warranty term used by several makers, not a lifespan. DOE-cited estimates on fueleconomy.gov are 12 to 15 years in moderate climates and 8 to 12 in severe ones. |
| The warranty gives you a brand-new pack | Kia states that repairs or replacements restore the battery to at least 70 percent capacity, and Tesla states a minimum 70 percent capacity retention clause, so the remedy depends on the terms. |
| One national rule sets the same battery warranty for every EV | Each maker states its own terms by model, as the warranty table shows, and California and federal emissions sheets list separate periods. |
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does an electric car battery replacement cost?
No official source publishes a single price. The Department of Energy’s Alternative Fuels Data Center says manufacturers typically do not publish pricing for replacement batteries and that an out-of-warranty replacement is expected to be a significant expense. Prices vary by model, model year, battery size and region, so ask a dealer for a written quote for your VIN.
How long is the warranty on an EV battery?
It depends on the maker and model. Tesla lists 8 years with 100,000, 120,000 or 150,000 miles depending on the model, Nissan lists 8 years or 100,000 miles for the 2026 LEAF, Chevrolet lists 8 years or 100,000 miles for the 2027 Bolt, and Kia lists 10 years or 100,000 miles.
How often do EV batteries need to be replaced?
Rarely, per EPA. Citing a 2025 Recurrent study of about 15,000 vehicles through model year 2023, EPA reports an average 2.5 percent replaced due to failure, outside of major recalls, and under 0.5 percent for model year 2016 and newer.
Do automakers publish the price of a replacement EV battery?
Typically not, according to the Alternative Fuels Data Center. Tesla’s warranty page does list a 4-year or 50,000-mile warranty on a high voltage battery bought as a part, but it states no price.
Is the 12V battery in an electric car the same as the main battery?
No. The main traction battery is a high-voltage lithium-ion pack. The Alternative Fuels Data Center notes that lead-acid batteries are used in electric vehicles only for ancillary loads. The 12V question is covered in our guide to how long a car battery lasts.
Can old EV batteries be recycled?
Yes. The Alternative Fuels Data Center says most components of lithium-ion batteries can be recycled, though the cost of material recovery remains a challenge.
Scope
- What this guide does not cover: model-by-model replacement prices, repair shop rates or insurance claims. Ask a dealer or qualified EV technician for a written quote, and check your own warranty booklet. This page is general information, not financial advice.
Conclusion
The honest answer to the cost question is that it depends on the car and the paperwork. Official sources give no replacement price, makers state their coverage by model, and most batteries are never replaced for failure. Check your warranty terms, get a written quote for your VIN, and treat any dollar range that does not name the car, year and scope as unsourced.
Products related to this article
Sponsored / affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I may earn additional commission from eligible campaigns.


